According to New Jersey State Law, Chapter 14, all children entering daycare centers or schools are required to have documentation of the following immunizations:
AGES 2-5 YEARS (PRE-KINDERGARTEN)
DPT 4 doses
POLIO 3 doses
NMR 1 dose after 12 months of age
HIB Age appropriate (at least one dose after 12 months of age)
VARIVAX requirement for all children entering preschool
ANNUAL FLU SHOT BY DECEMBER 31 OF EACH YEAR FOR CHILDREN
6 MONTHS TO 59 MONTHS.
PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE VACCINE FOR CHILDREN
2 TO 59 MONTHS OF AGE.
AT KINDERGARTEN ENTRY
DPT 4 to 5 doses (one given after the 4th birthday)
POLIO 3 or 4 doses (one after the 4th birthday)
MMR 2 doses (the first given after age 12 months)
HEPATITIS B 3 doses (one month between the first and second dose, third dose 5-6 months later)
STUDENTS ENTERING 6TH GRADE
Students born on or after January 1, 1997, and enrolled in Grade 6 or transferring into a New Jersey school from another state or country are to receive one dose of meningococcal vaccine.
Students born on or after January 1, 1997, and enrolled in Grade 6 or transferring into a New Jersey school from another state or country are to receive one booster dose of the Tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (Tdap) vaccine.
1) Please comply by having all immunizations required in place for the beginning of the school year.
2) All documentation provided must be a copy of an official immunization record or on a physician’s letterhead with day, month, and year recorded.
3) The State of New Jersey is asking that preschool-age children be tested for lead poisoning. Please include documentation of your child’s most recent lead screening on the enclosed medical form.