Passover’s 10 questions, as answered by the OU
search

Passover’s 10 questions, as answered by the OU

For the past five years, Rabbi David Polsky, who handles the Orthodox Union’s Kosher Hotline, has been devoting his pre-Passover time to answering a wide variety of holiday-related questions. Below are 10 of the most commonly asked Passover questions he receives every year. The list is meant to be used in conjunction with the Jewish Action OU Guide to Passover.

1. Does frozen salmon require special Passover supervision?

Raw frozen salmon that contains nothing other than water and salt does not require special Passover supervision. Although the ingredients frequently list coloring, this refers to pellets that salmon are fed that have no effect on their Passover status.

2. Do raw meat and poultry products require special Passover supervision?

All meat and poultry do not require special Passover supervision as long as they are raw and unprocessed. Ground meat and poultry count as unprocessed for these purposes.

3. Does coffee require special Passover supervision?

All regular ground coffees are acceptable for Passover use when bearing an OU.

Decaffeinated coffee: Coffee is often decaffeinated by means of ethel acetate, which is derived from either kitniyot (legumes) or chametz. Therefore, decaffeinated coffees are not acceptable for Passover unless specifically listed in the gray pages of the Jewish Action OU Guide to Passover (the section that contains items that do not require Passover certification).

Instant coffees often contain maltodextrin, which is derived from either corn (kitniyot) or wheat (chametz). Therefore, all instant coffees require special Passover certification unless explicitly mentioned in the gray pages (the section in the Guide to Passover that lists items that do not require Passover certification).

4. Which medications/vitamins are kosher for Passover?

Medications that are non-chewable and do not contain flavored coatings do not even have to be kosher for Passover, as they are inedible and are not consumed in a normal manner. Rabbis disagree as to whether the same can be said for non-chewable vitamins. The OU suggests that consumers consult with their rabbis as to whether such vitamins should be kosher for Passover. [For further details regarding medicines for Passover, the OU suggests turning to page 23 of this year’s Guide to Passover. The organization says it cannot emphasize enough that you should speak to your personal rabbi before refraining from taking any medication for any reason.]

5. My favorite brand of OU-certified extra virgin olive oil was omitted from the gray pages (list of OU-certified items that do not require special Passover certification). Is it still acceptable for Passover?

The OU suggests turning to the white box at the top of page 25 in the Guide, which provides a list of food categories that are acceptable even if they are omitted from the gray pages. Since extra virgin olive oil is listed, your brand is acceptable for Passover without special Passover certification.

6. My favorite brand of spring water was listed in both the gray pages and the white pages. How could this be?

Many companies elect to get special Passover supervision for their products even when their product would be acceptable without it. The white pages list every product that is certified by the OU as kosher for Passover, even when such supervision is not required. For this reason, the product will be listed in the white pages. Yet because the item is acceptable for Passover even without bearing an OU-P (meaning kosher for Passover), it is listed in the gray pages as well.

7. Which paper plates can I purchase for Passover?

On page 82 in the OU’s Passover guide and on http://oukosher.org/index.php/passover/article/5705 ) you will find a list of inedible products that can be used on Passover without any supervision whatsoever. These items are permitted by the OU’s rabbinical authorities either because they contain no chametz or kitniyot or because the items are so inedible that they can be used regardless of any chametz or kitniyot.

8. Can I use quinoa on Passover?

Rabbinical authorities disagree as to whether or not quinoa, the seeds of the goosefoot plant, is kitniyot. Those who permit it do so because it was not known to Jews when it became accepted to refrain from kitniyot. Others disagree and argue that it should be prohibited because it resembles other forms of kitniyot. Even if you follow the lenient opinion, the OU recommends sifting through your quinoa before using it to ensure that there are no chametz grains mixed in.

9. My child or relative relies on a special formula or shake that is not certified for Passover. Can they use it?

Most OU-certified formulas contain kitniyot, which is why they are not certified for Passover. According to Jewish law, many people with special needs and diets are exempt from the custom of kitniyot. The OU suggests speaking to your rabbi to ascertain whether your loved one meets these criteria.

[The OU has put together a list of OU-certified health products that contain kitniyot but no chametz. This list can be found on page 22 of the Passover guide and on the OU Website at http://oukosher.org/index.php/passover/article/5706. If a health product does not appear on this list, call the Kosher Consumer Hotline (212-613-8241) or e-mail kosher@ou.org.]

10. Can I use milk that is not certified for Passover?

You can use your regular brand of milk even if it is not certified for Passover. Just try to purchase it before Passover so that any chametz would be nullified.

A note on kitniyot: Since medieval times, Ashkenazic Jews have accepted a custom of not consuming legumes and non-chametz grains during Passover. The reasons for the custom were that many of these species are ground into flour (which could lead one to confuse it with grain flour) and that chametz could get mixed into kitniyot. Sephardim have never adopted this practice and therefore consume kitniyot on Passover.

comments