NCJW celebrates 95 years as it installs officers

NCJW celebrates 95 years as it installs officers

Carole Benson, left, and Dr. Shelly Wimpfheimer

The Bergen County section of the National Council of Jewish Women will celebrate its 95th anniversary at the Alpine Country Club in Demarest on June 5, at 11 a.m. There will be a cocktail hour on the outdoor terrace, lunch, awards, a raffle, and a silent auction. It also will mark the publication of “Our 95th Anniversary: A Celebration Through History,” compiled and written by NCJW’s historian and past president, Bea Podorefsky. Bill Ervolino, an author and columnist for and the Record/USA Network, will be the guest host.

The Hannah G. Solomon award will be presented to Dr. Shelly Wimpfheimer and Carole Benson will be named Woman of the Section.

Ms. Wimpfheimer is the executive director of the Community Chest, a Bergen County nonprofit organization in existence since 1933. She also has been executive coach to middle and senior management staff of the Division of Child Protection and Permanency, the New Jersey Department of Children and Families, and the New Jersey Department of Human Services, executive director of the Partnership for After School Education, and vice president of Youth and Family Services of the YMCA of Greater New York.

Ms. Benson grew up in a family that advocated for the importance of social justice and community involvement. She rallied with fellow students and activists to “Ban the Bomb” in Trafalgar Square in the 1950s and spoke out for women’s equality in the 1960s. She and her husband, Gerry, owned and ran a furniture showroom in Manhattan and worked in the computer industry. She has worked with NCJW, Inc. on the national level and is a past president of the Bergen County section, where she chaired and served on many committees. She is the chair of Israel affairs and communications, overseeing the section’s print and technology publicity outreach.

The organization also will install its officers. Co-presidents Jane Abraham, Elizabeth Halverstam, and Ruth Seitelman will be installed for another year of service; Marilynn Friedman, Susan Azaria Kanrich, Karen Kurland, Elaine Meyerson, Bari-Lynne Schwartz, and Ilene Wechter will continue to serve as vice presidents; and Norma Goldsmith will remain as recording secretary. New officers are vice presidents Elaine Bieger, Phyllis Betancourt, Nanette Matlick, and Joan Orenstein, and treasurer Liz Roditi.

Tickets and proceeds benefit the Bergen County section of NCJW, which includes 1,000 members committed to improving the lives of women, children, and families. For more information, go to or call (201) 385-4847.

read more: