Nearly 200 members and guests attended the 92nd annual installation luncheon of the Bergen County section of the National Council of Jewish Women on June 9. The installation was at Seasons in Washington Township.

Elaine K. Meyerson

Elaine K. Meyerson

The Hannah G. Solomon award was presented to Elaine K. Meyerson, executive director of Center for Hope and Safety (formerly Shelter Our Sisters). Marian Kugelmass received the Woman of the Section award, and Eric Zymet of Roy D. Smith Inc. earned a special Gutenberg award for Excellence in Printing.

The Hannah G. Solomon award is named after the founder of NCJW, who brought together 90 Jewish women from the United States to the Parliament of Religions at the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893. At that meeting, she formed the first major Jewish women’s organization, the National Council of Jewish Women, dedicated to faith, humanity, and serving unmet human needs.

Ms. Meyerson has worked at the Center for Hope and Safety for nearly 29 years. The Bergen County nonprofit agency provides confidential emergency shelter and support services for victims of domestic violence. A licensed social worker, Ms. Meyerson has grown the agency from a small grassroots organization to an integral and well-respected countywide program benefiting Bergen County residents. She is responsible for the fiscal and administrative management of the organization, which has an annual operating budget of approximately $3 million and a staff of 50 employees and more than 100 volunteers. She also is active on many state and local human service committees and coalitions, including serving on advisory boards of Project Sarah, Bergen Community College, and Hackensack University Medical Center. She was a former chair of the sisterhood and of the rabbi search committee at Temple Beth Sholom in Park Ridge. She is a life member of NCJW’s Bergen County section and has been a member for more than 20 years.

For information on NCJW BCS, go to